The information platform of the Swiss geology community

Culture

Dimension stone as building material, utensils and carriers of messages are part of our culture: the oldest cultural artifacts are similarly from stone, just as the products of today’s artists or engineers (© Francis de Quervain).

Geothermal energy

Geothermal energy – energy from the earth’s interior – is today already widely used in Switzerland. The potential for the future is enormous (© Leukerbad Tourism).

Tectonics / Structural geology

Enormous forces have always been at work inside our Earth. They continuously deform the Earth’s crust and affect its structural composition. Tectonic maps show how Switzerland is geologically constructed (© swisstopo).

Experience Geology

At the "Erlebnis Geologie" (Experience Geology) events, Swiss geologists from universities, museums, public offices and private industry provide the general public with interesting insights into their areas of expertise.

Kalender

Topic of the month
The Geology Portal regularly presents a new "topic of the month". 

Press
Summaries of media communications on the subject of geology 

Geological Data Viewer

Geological maps, geophysical overview maps, geotechnical maps and further geologically relevant databases in a map view.

Geological data in map.geo.admin.ch

La plate-forme d'information de la scène géologique suisse

Hydrologie

L’eau façonne le paysage et les écosystèmes naturels. Vitale pour la population, elle est importante pour de nombreux secteurs économiques de Suisse. Des données hydrologiques permettent d’observer le régime des eaux (© OFEV).

Chaos en sous-sol – Des faits plutôt que des mythes!

Les exploitations futures du sous-sol pour la production de matières premières et d’énergie, pour le stockage de déchets, pour les infrastructures et pour le captage des eaux souterraines sont susceptibles d’engendrer des tensions sociales et politiques (© Gestaltung Senger und Partner).

Vin

Le système roche – altération – sol – vigne – vin est complexe: le climat et la météorologie influencent la qualité d’un vin, mais son caractère est aussi tributaire du soubassement rocheux qui fournit l’eau et les nutriments à la vigne (© FGS).

Géotechnique & géologie de l’ingénieur

La géotechnique est une science de l’ingénieur qui se trouve à la confluence des sciences de la Terre, de la construction et de l’exploitation minière. Elle s’applique typiquement aux projets de tunnels, à la stabilisation des pentes ou aux investigations des sols de fondation (© AlpTransit Gotthard AG).

Kalender

Thème du mois
Le Portail Géologique présente régulièrement un nouveau "thème du mois“. 

Presse
Résumés des communiqués de presse sur les thèmes de la géologie 

Visualiseur de données géologiques

Cartes géologiques, cartes d'ensemble géophysiques, cartes géotechniques et bien d'autres données géologiques importantes.

Données géologiques sur map.geo.admin.ch